2018 Recipient – Greg Boeger

Greg and Sue Boeger bought an enchanting gold rush era homestead 1972, and established the first post-Prohibition winery in the El Dorado AVA.Greg grew up on his grandfather’s Nichelini Winery in Napa. This is where he developed his knowledge of

grape growing and winemaking. In El Dorado, Greg became a pioneer in experimenting with underdog varietals such as Barbera, Carignane, Refosco, Charbono, and Aglianico. Barbera emerged as the winery’s golden child early on and has garnered 120 medals for this one varietal, including multiple “Best Barbera of California” and “Best Barbera of the Sierra Foothills” at the CA State Fair. Boeger continues to elevate this cult-classic varietal.

2018 Recipient – The Bogle Family

While the Bogle family farming history in the Delta dates back into the mid 1800’s, it wasn’t until 1968 that Warren Bogle, Sr. planted the first wine grapes on Merritt Island near Clarksburg. The grapes were sold to other wineries until 1978. That’s when the first Bogle Winery wines were produced. Chris and Patty Bogle focused on making great wines at a great price, a core value that was popular with consumers and sustains the brand to this day.

At Chris’ untimely death in 1997, Patty summoned the next generation and made a commitment to press on with their vision. Patty’s focus on the fundamentals of the business helped build growth. Today Warren, Jr., his sister Jody Bogle VanDePol, and brother Ryan, oversee an operation that comprises 1600 hundred acres in Clarksburg and Lodi, all of it bearing a “Certified Sustainable Seal”. Bogle Winery now sells over 2 million cases of wine annually. Their footprint on the California wine business is known nationally and internationally.


Past Recipients

2017 – Paul Draper
2016 – G.M. “Pooch” Pucilowski
2015 – Gary Eberle
2013 – Carole Meredith
2012 – Dr. Ralph Kunkee
2012 – Dr. Maynard Amerine
2012 – Ficklin Vineyards, Walter C. Ficklin
2011 – Cal Poly San Luis Obispo
2011 – California State University, Fresno
2011 – University of California, Davis
2010 – Wente Family
2009 – Vince Petrucci
2009 – Peter Mondavi
2009 – Zelma Long
2008 – Warren Winiarski
2008 – Mike Grgich
2008 – Mary Ann Graf
2007 – Bob Gallo
2007 – Jerry Lohr
2007 – Jim Concannon
2006 – Darrell Corti
2006 – Dick Peterson
2005 – Richard Cuneo
2004 – Robert Young
2003 – John Parducci
2002 – Harold Olmo
2001 – Jess Jackson
2000 – John DeLuca
1999 – Gina Gallo
1998 – Bob Trinchero
1997 – Robert Mondavi