2018 Recipient – BloodSource and Univision

The collaboration between BloodSource, Univision and the CA State Fair exemplifies how a partnership truly benefits an entire community. Since 2012, BloodSource and Univision have hosted the “Dia De Donar Sangre” blood drive at Cal Expo every June. The event has been dubbed the single largest annual blood drive in northern California. Since its inception more than 16,000 participants have donated more than 6,400 lifesaving pints of blood; 8,423 people have registered as blood donors; 2,220 people have signed up as first-time donors.

The resulting pints of blood provide life sustaining support to thousands of Californians. The collaboration between BloodSource and Univision is beneficial because, according to BloodSource, Hispanic donors have a much higher incidence of Blood Type O which is the most requested blood type product from hospitals supporting patients who need blood. Univision raises awareness for the blood driving by spending the entire day broadcasting live from the event to bring in more donors. The CA State Fair joins this partnership by providing a free Fair admission ticket to those who donate blood. The 2018 Dia De Donar Sangre will take place on Friday, June 29 at Cal Expo.


Past Recipients

2017 – Pete Leesha
2016 – Gail Kautz
2015 – Joe Barkett
2014 – Golden 1 Credit Union
2013 – Save Mart Supermarkets
2012 – Earl “Butch” Butler
2011 – Harry Moos
2010 – California Cattlemen’s Association
2010 – Ralph Petty
2009 – Willie Pelote, Sr.
2009 – California State Fair, Agricultural Advisory Council
2008 – Sacramento Magazine
2007 – California State 4-H
2007 – Future Farmers of America
2006 – California Milk Advisory Board, Butch Diaz, Chair
2005 – Steve Markstein
2004 – Steve Beneto
2003 – Lou Blanas, Sacramento County Sheriff’s Dept.
2002 – Cotton Rosser
2001 – George & Gloria Soares
2001 – Robert Spacagna
2000 – California Forest Products Commission
1999 – Robert Mason, Sacramento Coca-Cola Bottling Co.
1999 – The Black Culture Day Committee
1999 – Jean Runyon, Runyon, Saltzman & Einhorn
1998 – University of California, Davis
1997 – Larry & Joann Davis, Carnival Time Shows, Inc.
1996 – Donald Brown, Lucky Stores
1995 – Laura Trout, Assistant Executive Director, Western Fairs Association
1994 – Ben B. Norman, DVM, University of California, Davis, School of Veterinary Medicine
1993 – Henry J. Voss, Director of the California Department of Food and Agriculture
1992 – Bob Vice, California Farm Bureau
1991 – Gordon Nooyen, Friends of the California State Fair
1990 – Dave Caffrey, Governor Deukmejian’s Cabinet Secretary
1989 – Senator Leroy Greene
1988 – Joe Albertson, Albertson’s
1987 – Don Hansen, Crystal Cream and Butter Company
1986 – Chris Almeida, California Department of Education
1985 – Ron Sellers, Sacramento Coca-Cola Bottling Co.
1985 – Janece Long, Friends of the California State Fair
1984 – Jack Clifford, Pacific Coast Quarter Horse Racing Association
1977 – Jim Van Maren, California Chamber of Commerce, Agriculture Committee